Skip to content

Remains of Fall

December 10, 2013

It’s been snowing here lately. The most beautiful snow–those big, fluffy flakes that take their time falling. I’ve been spending a lot of time writing in my apartment, and it’s been so lovely to look out at the snowfall as I work.

I have a couple of fallish projects to share, and I thought I’d better post them before fall has been completely forgotten.
Mustard CardiganThe first is my mustard cardigan, which is yet another piece in my capsule wardrobe. I love the feel of the yarn I used for this sweater so much that I’ve knit at least three sweaters out of it, but I’m not thrilled with the finished cardigan this time. It has a boyfriend style relaxed fit, which is just fine, but wasn’t what I was going for. Next time I want a fitted basic cardigan, I’ll go with a different pattern.
Mustard CardiganPlease forgive my face in this shot–it was ridiculously sunny when we took these photos at the arboretum.

Pattern: Glenna C’s Basic Black in the November 2007 issue of Magknits
Yarn: 5.3 skeins Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool #118
Needles: US 3 and 6 circulars
Made for: me
Timeline: 8 May – 22 October 2012
Modifications: none–clearly I should have made it smaller
Worst Part: the fit
Best Part: the hand and color of this yarn

Leaf CoastersMy other fallish project is really just for fun. I started making these fall leaf coasters one year when I was hosting Thanksgiving, and I must have run out of time. I pulled them out this year, and they were a quick and satisfying project that I’ve now tucked away for next fall.
Leaf CoastersThese are seriously the fastest little things! Just cut out the pattern from the Purl Bee from felt and stitch them together with a running stitch.

Time to get back to my paper writing. It’s so easy to write on my little blog and so painful to finish off these seminar papers. I can’t wait for them to be done!

Leave a comment